• header1
  • header2
  • header3
  • header4
  • header5
  • header6
  • header7
  • header8
  • header9
  • header10
  • header11
  • header12
  • header13
  • header14
  • header15
  • header16
  • header17

Waterfall Cottage  |  Force Mill - Near Satterthwaite

Sleeps 4  |  Saturday Changeover  |  No Pets  |  VE 4 Star Gold Award
Riverside Setting
Wi-Fi Broadband

Waterfall Cottage Guest Reviews

We have really enjoyed our stay in this most comfortable of cottages. The local walking was excellent, and we also enjoyed a very good walk from Colthouse to Latterbarrow. Many thanks!
Michael and Deborah Reynolds  Wiltshire  May 2016


What a fantastic barn...far exceeded our expectations! Stunning views from all sides. We've thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.
Dave, Laura and Will (Manchester)  April 2016


A lovely spacious cottage in a beautiful location. Cleanliness and facilities 10/10 ! All the little extras were nice to have too. Will definitely come again. Thank you.
Maureen and Martin and girls (Newcastle) April 2016


Fantastic cottage, walks, food places and facilities. Provided lots of cooking equipment. Perfect location and amazing waterfall. The best cottage we've stayed in as regards comfort, warmth (great to have so many radiators!) and all those extras. Would love to come again. Best holiday ever!
Thank you.
The Garner Family   March 2016


Had an amazing time! Weather was incredible! Waterfall helped us sleep at night. Definitely coming back!
Jon and Hayley October 2015


We have had an incredible week in such a lovely cottage in the perfect location. And the weather was amazing. We really couldn't have asked for better...We really have had the best week. Thank you so much!
Jess and Jamie October 2015
A great week and a lovely cottage. Breakfast by the waterfall was wonderful!
Roger and Julie September 2015
Lovely cottage. Enjoyed sitting by the stream. Wouldn't have brought so much if I knew the cottage was so well-equipped!
Definitely recommend to friends, and will come again! Five stars!!!
Anna & Kostas Michael   Maria and Marios Patroklou August 2015
We've had a lovely week here! Being able to sit by the waterfall and soak up the sun/birdsong/restful views of greenery and wildflowers has been restorative...just what was needed. Highlights have been sightings of dippers, lizards and a kingfisher, and of course the night sky. We watched the Perseids meteor shower mid-week, but the stars in such a place are wonderful any time.
Beds are really comfy, and the house has everything we needed to be a home from home. Thank you!
Sarah, Niall and Fraser Paydon August 2015
Such a lovely place! We enjoyed our time here. Sitting by the waterfall with the family made the holiday perfect! Even on rainy days the house didn't get boring. Everything we needed was here. We hope everyone who will come to Waterfall Cottage will like it as much as we do. We will recommend it to all our friends in Germany!
Susi, Tom, Leona and Paul August 2015
What a lovely place to stay. Very peaceful and beautiful. Thanks for a lovely holiday.
Charlotte and Lesley July 2015
A wonderful cottage and a great base to explore this side of the Lakes. The children loved the chairs by the stream, and constantly compared other waterfalls to "our" waterfalls...usually to the detriment of the other locations. We recommend the Quenn's Head in Hawkshead for dinner...best sticky toffee pudding ever!
Michelle and Ethan and Family July 2015
Had a wonderful stay. Lovely accommodation. The walk along the waterfall is spectacular and links up to a path leading to the pub at Satterthwaite.
Ross & Nic (UK)   Kerry and Rob (Perth, Oz) July 2015
What a great base for exploring this side of the Lakes. Welcoming and generous arrival. Lovely, clean, warm and very comfortable accommodation. Thank you.
Phillippa and Virginia,   Tasmania June 2015
Perfect base to explore the trails on our mountain bikes...Great cottage with all you need for a fab holiday!
Ali and Paul   Surrey June 2015
What a lovely little find! Such a unique cottage in the heart of a forest. We enjoyed walks in Grizedale, with spotted red deer, woodpeckers and lots of birds. The cottage was extremely comfortable and so well-equipped. Thank you for all the extras...toiletries, biscuits, books, games! We have had a lovely stay here, and will miss the sound of the waterfall.
Ruth & Alistair Noble,  John & Rosalyn Goodfellow  2015
Lovely cottage with a great little terrace. Mountain biking in Grizedale Forest is excellent...especially the Sculpture Trail.
Cumbrian Heavy Horses and Steam Gondola on Coniston also highly recommended!
Jacquie and Andy,  Edinburgh May-June 2015
We have had a wonderful stay in this beautiful cottage in such a peaceful location -- just what we needed to recharge our batteries.
The cottage is very well-equipped with everything you could need for a relaxing stay. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
Mike and Kirstin Cook May 2015
An enjoyable stay in a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. An amazing water feature...and plenty of wildlife.
Highly recommend the Eagle's Head for meals.
Nigel, Karen, Lee and Sarah     Bury St Edmunds May 2015
Well, what a week from the minute we arrived 7 days ago...we have loved our stay here and intend to return.
Our seat by the waterfall was bliss, and we fell asleep many afternoons with the sun on our faces.
Happy times to remember for ever.
Ken and Pam Simpson,  Liverpool April 2015
A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a spotlessly clean and very spacious cottage. Wonderfully peaceful area, and we enjoyed good weather...fabulous views and varied wildlife here at the cottage, including Greater spotted woodpeckers, Tits, Dippers, and bats at night flying across the Beck. Thanks to our hosts for providing excellent facilities in a beautiful, tranquil location, making it a wonderful holiday experience.
Colin Harwood and Julie Branson   18 May
Comfortable and well-situated for a week of amazing weather...we particularly enjoyed having breakfast outside by the waterfalls each morning! Many thanks.
Steve & Jenni Last,    Karen & John Burrage
A great week with sunshine. Who says it's always raining in the UK? Waterfall Cottage is a great cottage in beautiful surroundings. Thanks for the stay.
Thomas, Annette, Lisa and Jamia (Germany)  6 - 13 July
We had a fantastic week at Waterfall Cottage...had our breakfast by the Waterfall every morning! The cottage is an ideal location for the activities at Grizedale Forest We were very fortuate with the weather...sunny every day!
Ann, Colin and Jake    20 - 27 July
Spacious and comfortable for our family. We have climbed the Old Man of Coniston, Cat Bells, and walked from Waterfall Cottage to most parts of Grizedale Forest, caught the ferry to Windermere, and been kayaking and climbing at Fell Foot Park.
Julian, Rachel, Robin (10), Annabel (8)    10 - 17 August
A lovely cottage in a perfect location. Very comfortable and we appreciated the jam and biscuits, thank you! A great base for exploring the Lake District. We had a wonderful time. Many thanks!
Tabitha, Xavier, Ian and Rachel    17 - 24 Aug
A lovely cottage to stay in during our week. Lovely walks up the Old Man of Coniston, Pike O'Stickle, Harrison Stickle, Pike O'Blisco, Lingmoor Fell and Muncaster Fell. A trip down memory lane! A lovely week with great weather!
Bronte (16), Nicki and Richard    24 - 31 August
Had a wonderful stay at this beautiful cottage. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it! Thank you so much.
Maureen and John - October
Had a wonderfully relaxing week...lovely walks, can recommend the lakeshore walk and Blelham Tarn, and Hawkshead to Tarn Hows. Rogan & Co at Cartmel is well worth a visit...fine dining and unusual combination of flavours.
Hilary and Mike - September
Ideal location for exploring the Lake District. Delightful cottage. Loved the terrace area, watching the changing river/waterfalls dependent on the weather. Visited Grizedale Forest with great walks there for all levels of ability. Walked to Satterthwaite for Sunday lunch at the Eagle's Head. Thanks for your assistance when needed to use the phone. It was much appreciated.
Jamie - 28 September
Waterfall Cottage provides the perfect antidote to stressful everyday life! A haven of peace, calm and comfort--everything a holiday should be. Many thanks.
Edie and John, Yorkshire.
Fabulous accommodation. Although a fleeting visit, it was thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you.
Ann, Ashley and Bradley
My partner and I have had such a refreshing week here at the cottage. The cottage itself has been really well done, and the waterfall is such a treat. We have watched so much wildlife, just in the garden, and following the falls up the trail most days has been wonderful. Thank you for creating such a beautiful space for us to relax in.
Rich and Helen.
Lucky with the weather! Cottage with its own river and waterfalls. What a find! Thank you for our lovely stay.
Jane and Terry (Norfolk)
A lovely spacious cottage. Delightful name and location -- love the sound of the waterfall. Have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our first since 1974! The roads are very pleasantly quiet. Altogether a most welcome holiday. I'll definitely recommend this cottage to our friends.
Judi and Trevor (Merton, Devon)
Lovely place, lovely location, lovely time. Thanks!
Peter and Helen (Durham)
This is a hidden gem. What we love about Force Mills is its quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of places like Ambleside, but still close to most locations in the Lake District. We love the falls, and we will certainly come again. Thank you so much!
Christine and Ben Dermott (Manchester)
Best hol for ages. The river and falls are fantastic, the cottage is fantastic, and there's stacks to do round here. We love the peace and quiet and all the walks on the doorstep. We're coming again because we love it.
David and Charles Wilkinson (London)
My family has its roots in Satterthwaite, so we booked a holiday here to do some research. Mick and I are delighted with Waterfall Cottage. We love the peace of the Rusland Valley and Grizedale. It's the ideal place for us to stay because it is away from crowds but easy for us to get anywhere in the Lakes.
Sue and Michael (Perth, Oz)
Our second stay at Force Mill and even better than first time! Out every day biking, walking, boating and not to forget eating! This place is top!      
Paul and Margaret Simmonds