• header1
  • header2
  • header3
  • header4
  • header5
  • header6
  • header7
  • header8
  • header9
  • header10
  • header11
  • header12
  • header13
  • header14
  • header15
  • header16
  • header17
  • header18
  • header19
  • header20
  • header21
  • header22
  • header23

Grammar School House  |  Watermillock - Ullswater

Sleeps 8  |  Friday Changeover  |  Pets - See Property Inventory  |  VE 5 Star Gold Award
Wi-Fi Broadband
See Also - Low Longthwaite Farm   Horrock Wood Farm   Bank Barn - Wreay  

Grammar School House Guest Reviews

 

We have had a smashing Easter break, thank you.
Super property, very well equipped and prepared for us. Desrves its 5*
Recommend Bistro 1863 in Pooley Bridge for a smart dinner.
Brilliant stay, thank you! We spotted red squirrels in the garden.

April 2017


Piano room perfect for A level revision. Very useful to be able to have a work zone for anybody who might need it while away! The Aira Force trail up to the last gate before the hill is also a perfect place for runs – about 5.5Km.
April 2017


Fantastic accommodation, location and equipment. We all had a lovely time.
April 2017


 

The fifth year we have stayed here at GSH, and it is just as enjoyable as the other visits! We recommend the Distant Horizons group in Watermillock for a good outdoor experience e.g. kayaking all of Ullswater or outdoor rock climbing just a few minutes from the house.

Already looking forward to next year!
April 2017

 


We were very impressed with the property.  it was beautiful decorated and extremely well equipped. The house was in a beautiful peaceful area.  Frogs, red squirrels and a pheasant were spotted in the garden to our delight.  We had a wonderful time and can recommend this property without any hesitation.

Kind regards
Lennie Smith-de Wit - March 2017

 


Wonderful week in our favourite part of the world. Beautiful house – saw squirrels, pheasants, frogs and the lovely daffodils. Even managed to sit outside one day for lunch – weather good for a change! The house is extremely well equipped and has everything anyone can need. The massage chair was a big hit! Standing in the garden staring at the stars at night was an absolute joy!

If I win the lottery then an offer will be made!! Hope everyone who stays enjoys it as much as we did.
March 2017 


 

Very relaxing half term week. Loved the house. So well equipped. Fantastic weather – lots of walks and enjoyed the Ullswater steamer. Thank you.
February 2017


 

 

What a fabulous house! We have had a great multi-generational holiday. Special thanks to Denise, Chris and Keith, the plumber, who came to our rescue on the first night when the boiler didn’t work – they were all fantastic and it was quickly fixed. We loved the showers, the massage chair, the football table, the piano, the Aga and the beautiful Christmas tree – and pretty much everything else. Setting was ideal for us with walking from the door, and the garage was great for our mountain bike.

December 2016


 

A second stay here and as good as the first - such a well equipped and comfortable house - we all love it (including the dog). Thank you
October 2016  


Thank you so much for having the piano tuned for us – we used it a lot. The house suited our holiday perfectly – we managed to play octets in the kitchen on Sunday and rehearsed for our string quartet in the far living room. The kitchen was perfect for our other obsessions – cooking and eating.
September 2016


Amazing few days in one of the most beautiful places in the world. House was great. Hope to be back!
September 2016


This has been an amazing holiday and I have been planning to come back. In this house and area there is always something fun to do. There is also a beautiful garden which we spent hours in. We had a very happy two weeks.
August 2016 


What a beautiful home and location, situated perfectly for those who want to walk the Ullswater Way! The house is very spacious and beautifully equipped –(only thing we couldn’t find was a coffee grinder!). Loved the Aga!!
August 2016


Wonderful week – already planning to come back next year. We loved everything – piano amazingly in tune, 2 Sky boxes (luxury), easy and challenging jigsaws.  Big fan of the massage chair. 100 stars/100 stars * x100. We also saw some red squirrels! The best Ullswater house we have stayed in and we’ve been coming up here for 7 years.
Mr & Mrs O & party July 2016


Fantastic, had a great week. The house is lovely and is well equipped with everything you need and more. Great location for great walks and views.
June 2016


Lovely house, generously equipped. First experience of Aga and loved it! A treat to see such varied birdlife and red squirrels so easily. A great holiday had by all. Thank you.
June 2016


Have spent a lovely and relaxing holiday in this fantastic house and beautiful area. Would really love to come again if the opportunity arises.
June 2016


Great property, great location, very well equipped. We all enjoyed watching the squirrels and bought them more nuts. Great weather all week.
May 2016


Wow, beautiful house, surroundings and so well equipped. Thank you we have had such a fantastic week. Even though GSH is big it is still really homely. We all enjoyed it so much I am sure we will be back again. Once again many thanks.
May 2016


Grammar School House is the best equipped cottage we have stayed in over the last 30 years. It fully deserves the 5 Star Gold Award. We hope to be back. This was a big birthday celebration and was a wonderful venue to celebrate it.
March 2016 


Had a lovely well needed break in your beautiful house. We really appreciated all the information you provided and the fact that the house is so well equipped! The showers are superb! Also we were lucky enough to see the red squirrels and the woodpecker. Thank you very much.
February 2016 


Another great New Year at GSH. Thanks for the attention to detail and little touches that make it so special.
January 2016 


Wonderful Christmas away – very comfortable week. Managed to avoid the floods! Enjoyed the Aga experience – best xmas turkey ever!! Your comments are much appreciated and a welcome understanding of one or two minor glitches!! Also a huge thank you for leaving property immaculate. What a lovely place.
December 2015


A beautiful, comfortable house, a real home-from-home. It has been really thoughtfully set up and finished. We have had a very enjoyable and relaxing week, including walks, pub visits, archery, quad bikes, horse riding, the Ullswater Steamers and just recharging batteries. We would definitely like to visit again.
October 2015  


Another lovely family holiday in this super house. Same week as 2014 and weather very good again. Very relaxing stay - thanks
September 2015  


What an amazing place to stay! Incredibly comfortable beds, a shower and bath to die for and a wonderful massage chair for after a long walk. It is an incredible place for the children too, well resourced and nature all around to learn from (newts in the pond to red squirrels eating in front of us). Thank you for the welcome pack too – a lovely touch.
August 2015  


A perfect three generation family holiday. Like everyone else we really appreciated the quality and good taste of all the equipment and fittings – but the wooden children’s puzzle proved too difficult for us!


What a wonderful week! Waking to red squirrels, a woodpecker, nuthatches, finches and tree creepers has been an unforgettable treat.
August 2015 


Absolutely fantastic cottage, so well equipped.
April 2015 


Just had to let you know we have been going to the Lake District for at least 20 years in different rental cottages and Grammar School House was the best equipped and cleanest place we have ever stayed.  Hopefully will be booking with yourselves in the not too distant future.
April 2015  


Wonderful as ever
March 2015 


We all had a wonderful time. The house exceeded expectations. Very well equipped. The walks and scenery were so beautiful. Sad to leave but will return sometime soon. Thank you. Wonderful!
Decemeber 2014 


Stunning. Had a fab time.
Novemeber 2014 


What an amazing place, every detail thought of. You can see a lot of love has gone into this home. Loved the children's equipment! Thank you very much.|
October 2014 


An excellent and relaxing break in such wonderful surroundings – highly commended. Everything is provided for, which made the stay that much more enjoyable. 10/10


We have stayed in the Lakes many times and this is one of the best houses we have stayed in. Truly wonderful house in a fabulous location. Thank you! Thank you for a super stay. It has been amazing. We loved feeding birds and red squirrel.
August 2014 


We had a perfect holiday with our little ones exploring trails and towns and castles around the North Lakes. Thank you! Fantastic house for holiday!
July 2014


Just beautiful! We shall miss the scenery and our 4 yr old will miss the cows! Stunning house, location. Enjoy! x Fabulous standards, beautifully kept. Fabulous house, we have loved it! Thanks so much x
June 2014 


Been coming to the Lakes for years – best house we have stayed in. Really well equipped and cosy. Will recommend Such a beautiful house! Perfect for a relaxing week away Thank you!!!
May 2014  


Another lovely stay in this beautiful house that has everything you could possibly need.
April 2014  


Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. We enjoyed our visit in this lovely part of England. The children were excited the woodpecker and red squirrel. We loved the Aga.
April 2014  


Our 2nd week at GSH did not disappoint. 3 years on and GSH remains a great place to stay. Next time we will come back without the rain!! Thanks again.
February 2014   


Lovely time in a lovely house. Plenty of facilities to enjoy even rainy days. Lots of information to help decide where to go and what to do. The massage chair was great too!
January 2014  


Had a fabulous New Year holiday. Beautiful house in lovely setting. Can't believe we had our own red squirrel!!
January 2014  


Great house, glad we came back after 4 years and hope to come back.
October 2013   


Thank you so much for a fantastic week. Our 2nd time here and had another brilliant stay!  Very well appointed, we wanted for nothing. Hope to be back.
August 2013   


Fantastic week, first class accommodation with first class weather. Everything we needed and more was here. We had a fabulous time to celebrate the parent's 60ths. Thank you.
July 2013   


Had a fantastic time and had a few sunny days! Cottage is very well thought out – lots provided as little extras. Would definitely come back.
May 2013  


Great house, perfect for a 30th birthday celebration. Everything we needed and more! (inc a banana hook!)
May 2013  


What a fantastic house! Have stayed in many of the cottages around here and in South Lakes also and this is our favourite.
April 2013   


A fantastic house, so well equipped, 3 kids loved the massage chair and piano , Mum and Dad loved the Aga. We will hopefully return one day! Thanks
March 2013   


What a wonderful place to spend our New Year holiday. Thank you for all the “little touches” and attention to detail which make all the difference. We hope to return!
December 2012  


We have had a fantastic time in this beautifully presented property. The welcome tray including crackers for New Year’s eve, the Christmas tree and the beds for our dogs exceeded our high expectations.


What can you say, a fantastic place. The best equipped and furnished kitchen ever. We lived in the kitchen diner but the other rooms are great too. The piano room is so relaxing to sit in and read. The lounge very comfortable when there are 2 families. The beds and huge bath were great. All I can do is wish anyone else staying has as good a time as we have had.
November 2012   


The house, garden and landscape is amazing. We loved the TVs and massage chair! Our dog Meggie, definitely loved the walks and hikes every day, and the pond was also great. The house is very welcoming and comfy.
October 2012   


We had an amazing time, this house has everything you could want, a credit to the owners. Thank you.
October 2012   


What a beautiful, well equipped house, everything we could ask for and more. Kitchen to die for, didn’t want to leave at all.
August 2012 


Loved it – again! We will return.
July 2012   


Super house, great space, had great football games! Loved the Aga – want one J.  The squirrels were fascinating.
July 2012   


Absolutely amazing. Loved it.
December 2011  


Fabulous house. Massage chair was a god-send.
October 2011   


Thank you so much – magic week.
October 2011   


We have had the most wonderful and enjoyable break here at Grammar School House. Everything about this house and location is perfect and everything a family holiday should be. We have made this house our own and find it very hard to believe we will be going back home! Thank you!
August.2011    


Best house we have ever stayed in having come for the past 15 years. Great for a young family with plenty of toys! Thank you
June 2011    


What a fabulous house! Extremely well-equipped and appointed. Large enough for the whole family and 4 very boisterous grandkids. Can’t fault anything – had a wonderful time and would love to come back one day!


The best equipped house we have ever stayed in. Everything you could want is here. Lovely house with lots of wildlife to entertain you. Saw the woodpecker and red squirrel every day as well as Mr and Mrs pheasant. Loved the Aga – soon got the hang of it. You’ve thought of everything to make a most comfortable place to stay. We hope to come again.
May 2011    


Fantastic week – fantastic house!! 4 children completely happy/entertained for 7 days and nights. Your house has everything we needed and then more!! Love the Aga. Many thanks – we hope to be back soon.
Feb 2011    


A wonderful house and a wonderful holiday. You have provided everything we could possibly need – quite an achievement for a family aged 52yrs to 18 months. Thank you.
August 2010    


Home was never like this! You have provided for our every need. You must be very caring people to have others comforts at heart. Great location and access to some brilliant walks. Fab house. We have really enjoyed cooking on the Aga.
July 2010    


Many thanks for such a caring and attentive ownership. Have stayed in the Lakes for many many years. This is comfortably easily amongst the best properties, if not, the best. Absolutely first class – can we please come back!! Many holiday makers are going to have a great time here. Well done! Brilliant! Best house we have ever stayed in at the Lakes. Great attention to detail – very generously equipped.
May 2010    


What can we say! Can we live here for ever! Suggestions how to improve it – don’t it’s great as it is!!
March 2010    


Lovely house, extremely well done.  Home away from home.  Well stocked and beautifully done.  Best we’ve stayed in.  Snow on the hills and grounds – picture perfect.  Thanks.
Dec 2009   


Having stayed in many self catering cottages we have to say that this is the best equipped house we have come across. We found ourselves saying “how good is…” so many times, we lost count. You’ve clearly been very thoughtful thinking about how to make this “home from home”. It was also very baby friendly – having a very inquisitive and cruising toddler this was very much appreciated! Thanks very much for a lovely stay – we would love to be staying longer!!
Nov 2009