• header1
  • header1.5
  • header2
  • header3
  • header4
  • header5
  • header6
  • header7
  • header8
  • header9
  • header10
  • header11

Ducklings Retreat

Cartmel

Key Information

Sleeps:2

Star Rating:VE 5 Star

Changeover:Friday

Pets:No Pets

Other: Wi-Fi Broadband

Easy Access For Cartmel Races

Ducklings Retreat Guest Reviews

 

Hi, Had a wonderful time at Ducklings Retreat... So relaxing in the park. The apartment was ideal for the 2 of us, with all the features that make for the perfect long weekend break. The owners taste is wonderful. Look forward to booking with you again on our next visit.
July 2017


 

We had a wonderful time in the lakes and felt very at home at Ducklings retreat. It is a lovely apartment. We are hoping to rebook for a little later in the year and see the lakes in a different season.
Paul - Feb 2017


This is our second stay at Ducklings retreat, as a wedding gift – we got married last week! We returned as husband and wife having stayed here the weekend we got engaged in October 2014, so Ducklings Retreat holds a very special place in our hearts! Another excellent stay; dining in Porto in Bowness was a particular highlight (another wedding present!) as was the sticky toffee pudding in the Cartmel sticky toffee shop.  Thank you! 
Jack & Lisa-Marie – January 2017


A return visit to Ducklings Retreat and seeing family – such a lovely ‘retreat’ to stay in, with everything you could need, and so beautifully appointed, and so restful too! Many thanks.
Rose & Jon – December 2016


Ducklings Retreat is a wonderful warm, comfortable and cost place. Very well equipped and fantastic shower. Great parking! Thanks very much.
Sheila & John – October 2016


What a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. People very friendly. Really enjoyed our walks in the local area, particularly to Hampsfell and the hospice – wonderful 360-degree views. It was a joy to visit an area where little or no litter was left to spoil the beautiful countryside. I’d recommend this lovely place to everyone. 
Jo & Emi – September 2016


We have stayed at many cottages in the lakes and Ducklings Retreat is by far out favourite. The owners have gone the extra mile to reassure maximum comfort. The welcome Prosecco is a lovely touch. Thank you!
Elizabeth & Thomas – August 2016


Ducklings retreat was everything we needed in a holiday apartment from the comfortable bed to the sitting room, lovely bathroom and well equipped kitchen. The location was perfect for our stay in the Lakes and far from the hustle and bustle but near enough for local attractions.
June 2016 - Craven 


What a truly fantastic apartment! Visiting friends dotted around the Lakes and this was the perfect base.  Having worked in the hotel industry for many years i've spent many nights in hotel rooms etc. but Duckling’s Retreat is something else!  It feels like a home from home and EVERYTHING has been thought of.  I’ve fallen in love with the bedroom so much i’m going home to redecorate.
Feb 2016 - Tracy


Perfect apartment.  Ticks all the boxes and a lovely place to come back to.  Have stayed in Cartmel before and the inns are consistently good, but surprised by the quality and service next door in the Aynsome Manor Hotel.  A real gem right on the doorstep literally.
Feb 2016 - Pam and Graeme 


We have had the most fantastic Christmas here!  The rain was lashing down this week, but the flat was lovely and cosy.  We loved all the yummy places to eat in Cartmel and think the flat is the perfect countryside retreat.
Dec 2015 - Clare and Jo

Thank you so much for our wonderful stay at Ducklings Retreat. Such a lovely apartment and the interior is so modern, we didn't want to leave and will definitely be returning.
October 2015


We really enjoyed our stay at Ducklings Retreat.  Very comfortable and stylish.  Ideal base to explore the Southern Lakes – not too far from the Northern Lakes either!
10th_17th July 2015 - Paul and Dinah 


We booked Ducklings Retreat as a treat after months of hard work at home.
It proved to be just the ticket.  We appreciated all the thought that has gone into making this apartment a cosy and comfortable home from home.
22nd- 25th June 2015. Mary and David Dugan 


We absolutely enjoyed every minute of our holiday in Ducklings Retreat.
We felt spoiled by the luxury and beautiful interior of the cottage!  Everything we needed was at hand, and we felt very much at home.
12th – 19th June - Reiner and Marcelle


This is an absolute gem of an apartment, tastefully decorated to a very high standard, we had a fabulous stay and didn’t want to leave.
We have stayed in Cartmel many times over the last ten years and are glad to have found this lovely apartment. Will be back again!
25th_29th May - Robin and Debbie 


What a fabulous holiday! Ducklings Retreat is a perfect base to see the Lakes!
The apartment is just gorgeous! As everyone else has said, I want my house like this!
15th-22nd May - Charlotte and Will 


Thank you for a peaceful, relaxing stay in a beautiful cottage.  It was the perfect base from which to explore the Lake District.
1st – 4th May - Dave and Jen 


What a lovely place to stay for a really relaxing week away – just what we needed!
Ducklings Retreat is a real delight – stylish but cosy at the same time!
Judging by previous comments we should start a support group to help us more ‘challenged’ at interior design to get over having to go home to less elegant surroundings.
8th-15th May - James and Tracey 


We really enjoyed our stay at Ducklings.  From the surprise Prosecco, which was very welcome, to the apartment being beautifully furnished (given us home inspiration).  Loved the Lamino [chair], and being a guitarist the Fender was also a great addition.
10th -17th April - Mike and Marie 


Ducklings Retreat is truly special.  We came here after a tough few months and have left feeling revived.
It is such a beautiful location for a retreat.  It is immaculate and beautifully done out.  We will certainly be taking some design inspiration!
Lovely selection of pubs just a short walk away with great food and drink.
27th March- 3rd April - Paul and Rebekah 


 I wouldn’t make any suggestions about Ducklings Retreat because it’s perfect – you’ve got it exactly right!
23rd – 27th March - Anne and Stuart 


We visited Ducklings Retreat as newly weds for part 1 of our honeymoon. We wanted a cosy retreat for some relaxing time and we were not disappointed. This is a well equipped apartment with everything you would need to feel at home. However, it is also a springboard to the gastronomic heights of Cartmel. We will definitely return to explore more of the surrounding areas. Thank you! We would certainly recommend to family and friends.
Paul and Clare O’Donnell, Wirral - August 2013


We’ve had a great time here at Ducklings Retreat. The accommodation was perfect and more than we could have expected. We enjoyed exploring Cartmel and fell in love with it instantly. Would definitey recommend it. Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Steve and Ruth Prescott, Scotland - July 2013


We found the cottage to be a perfect base from which to explore the Lakes and surrounding areas. What a lovely cottage, with everything we needed. We have had a sunny, relaxing week here and would recommend Ducklings Retreat to others. Many thanks!
William and Victoria, Belfastn - July 2013


We have really enjoyed our stay here! What a beautiful apartment to come back to after a long day walking. Everything you need – peaceful – lovely duck pond. Thank you very much for our stay here. Will recommend to friends and family.
Adele and Andrew, Birkenshaw, Bradford - June 2013


We came here for part 2 of our honeymoon (part 1 was in Las Vegas so a more relaxing part 2!). The apartment was perfect for us – nice and cosy after a day out and all we needed to enjoy a Mrs Higginson’s Pie and sticky toffee pudding! Will be recommending to others and look forward to returning to the lakes for longer next time!
Paul and Tamsin Bramhan, Nottingham - May 2013


We came here for bank holiday weekend, and we are really glad we did!  A perfect place to unwind and escape.  We liked the location and enjoyed the strolls into Cartmel. We will return and definitely to apartment 7, Ducklings Retreat.
Simon and Sarah, Whalley, Lancashire - May 2013


The cottage is extremely well finished, with everything that we might need. Location was ideal for a quiet week away. Used Cartmel pubs and restaurants every day, and never had a bad meal. Would like to come again.
Kath and John Wright 


Well this is our second time in your lovely apartment and we will definitely be back a third. The perfect place to get away from it all and recharge our batteries. Enjoyed long, leisurely walks, then an afternoon in the village.
Angela and Barry Lane - Littleborough, Lancs


Wow! What a beautiful apartment, we couldn’t have wished for a more perfect ‘retreat’ to return to after a long day of walking. Cartmel is simply idyllic and offers a variety of welcoming pubs which are a perfect pit stop after a walk. The highlight of it all though was having the pleasure of returning to Ducklings Retreat every evening for a cosy and comfortable end to each day. There is no doubt that we will be returning to this beautiful apartment again. Thank you so much, everything was perfect.
Sally and Russ - Chester


We have had the most wonderful week and can recommend an April visit - the masses of daffodils have been glorious. We love the apartment and enjoyed returning at the end of a busy day for a relaxing evening. Already planning our next visit!


Thank you so much. We really enjoyed our stay at Duckling Retreat and visiting Cartmel and the Lake District. Thanks again.
Dyahn


What a fabulous place you have, beautifully decorated, with everything we needed for a week away. It's such a luxury to come away and find a place that has all the things you need, along with a perfect location and a nice cycle to the village. We are stealing a bit of your style. After falling for the ducks we have our own Herbie to take home, along with stick toffee puddings and Higginson's pies. All the very best.
Sarah & Mike 


We've enjoyed a wonderful few nights in your gorgeous apartment. The thought which has gone into decorating is evident with many lovely little touches which were much appreciated. We stayed in one night to cook and were very impressed with how well equipped your kitchen is - and how BIG your wine glasses are! On our other two nights we ate at Rogan's Restaurant, returning the second night after enjoying what we thought was possibly the best meal ever - we thoroughly recommend it to your future guests.
Lindsay & Andrew


Ducklings Retreat and Cartmel – what a glorious place to recharge our batteries. The apartment was everything we expected and more, it is little piece of luxury. The décor and comfort of the apartment is fab – from the welcome fizz to the lovely bath sheets and the Oh so comfortable bed.
Dawn and John


The apartment is a lovely, peaceful, cosy and luxurious hideaway.
June and Rob


The fluffy robes, slippers and even milk in the fridge were all delightful and thoughtful extras that we appreciated.
Viola and Assumpta


Ducklings Retreat has offered us comfort, style and luxury all in one.
Lisa Marie and Jack


Loved the apartment – very stylish and contemporary and in a great location.  It has been very peaceful and makes a change from the hordes of tourists in some parts of the Lakes.
Eileen and Andy


Our apartment was cosy and well appointed. We had everything we needed. Great shower too. Sheer luxury.
Margaret and Graham


Your retreat is truly perfect, lacking nothing, and certainly 5 star in our book!
Angela and Tina