• header1
  • header2
  • header3
  • header4
  • header5
  • header6
  • header7
  • header8
  • header9
  • header10
  • header11
  • header12
  • header13
  • header14
  • header15
  • header16
  • header17
  • header18
  • header19
  • header20
  • header21

Beehive Barn

Caldbeck Near Bassenthwaite

Key Information

Sleeps:4

Star Rating:VE 5 Star

Changeover:Friday

Pets:No Pets

Other: Wi-Fi Broadband
New Property

Beehive Barn Guest Reviews

First class stay at Beehive Barn. Very tasteful. Beautifully converted. Very warm. Lovely and peaceful. Extremely helpful hosts.
Caroline and Richard Hudson - November 2017


 

we had an absolut fantastic stay at Beehive Barn. I just emailed to the owners yesterday to say thank you for the great week.
I can highly recommend Beehive Barn. The house has top standards from the bathrooms to the kitchen, is perfectly situated to explore the Northern Lake District and Tony and Carol make you feel like home. With the warm fire in the evenings, it is the perfect place to relax and our family would love to come back sometime.
Sascha - October 2017


Excellent stay in a wonderful cottage with loads of attention to detail. Hosts were very hospitable and friendly. Highly recommendable. Best regards,
Cees Collart - September 2017


Many thanks - we both felt it was the best self catering cottage we had ever stayed in.
Thanks again,
Carolyn Shipton - July 2017


Beehive Barn is a delight. Comfortable, cosy, well-equipped and beautifully decorated and maintained, certainly one of the best cottages we have stayed in. The owners, Tony and Carol, were on hand to help out with any queries and are very friendly. The location is excellent with easy access to the North Lakes area. We enjoyed many walks in the local area and slightly further afield around Keswick and were blessed with great weather. I would recommend Beehive Barn very highly.
Sarah Duff - April 2017


We’ve had the happiest start to 2017 we could have wished for!  The barn is such a beautiful and comfortable place to relax and escape from the outside world.  It’s also perfectly situated for those days we did venture out to explore the lakes.  Our thanks to Tony & Carol for all their kindness and helpful advice, you’ve made us most welcome.
Andrew & Lesley EASSON - New Year 2017


We’ve had the most amazing honeymoon staying at Beehive Barn.  You gave us such a warm welcome and the heart shaped homemade scones and bottle of bubbly on our arrival was a perfect start to our weeks stay!  We loved the little touches and the decor of he barn is superb.  We slept so well and felt so at home we really didn’t want to leave!!  Thank you for all your recommendations we had a fabulous time & we hope to return sometime in the near future!
Matt & Ali WILCOCK December 2016


Tony and Carol made us all extremely welcome. The property is absolutely delightful, beautifully converted and maintained, with gorgeous décor. The attention to detail was perfect with everything and more, for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The location of the barn on the edge of the village was also perfect as it makes for easy access to walk into the village or for travelling to nearby Lake District towns.

We have stayed in a number of LCC properties  and have always found you to be informative, with an excellent website which clearly expresses the quality of the accommodation. As we normally book for just the two of us, we have not visited Beehive Barn previously, but for the three of us it was perfect. However, we would consider booking again, just for the two of us, because it was so lovely. Many thanks to Carol and Tony for the excellent scones, the very impressive 'goody' bag,  provisions provided and the delightful toiletries. 
Kind regards, Tanya and Bill Shaw - September 2016


Our second visit but not the last! Another great week in this superb cottage Thank you for making us so welcome.  We can recommend Lingholm Estate beside Derwentwater for tea and lunch (Tony will give you directions) we still have lots to explore in this beautiful area and plan to return next year.
Bob & Viv Tebbit West Sussex September 2016


What can we say other than what a fantastic place!  We’ve stayed in many cottages over the years and this is right up there and definitely deserves its 5* rating! Set in such a beautiful location, the barn has everything you could need……. plus all the extra touches that made such a difference.  Thank you to Carol & Tony for making us feel so welcome & for the lovely scones on arrival too!!!  Our boys loved the huge garden and having the chickens to feed …. & chase and have already asked can we come back.
The Melia’s Westhoughton August 2016


Thank you for a lovely time at Beehive Barn, such a fantastic Cottage, and lovely owners.  The perfect place for our first family holiday in the Lake District
The Lloyd’s Essex July 2016


We stayed here for the 2nd week of Easter holidays.  We loved the cottage particularly loved feeding the chickens.. We loved all of the homely touches such as Beehive shaped biscuits, Luxury soaps and toiletries and the cosy fire.  We loved walking in the countryside and we were lucky enough to see the birth of a new lamb. Thank you so much.
The Dalton Family April 2016


Thank you for a wonderful stay.  The barn is beautifully presented and we were extremely grateful for all of the extra touches (bubble bath & salts etc) provided.  Our little boy was overjoyed at being able to collect and eat the eggs.  We’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Thank You. 
The Armstrong Family Northumberland April 2016


We have had such a great week in this gorgeous cottage. We have stayed in quite a few cottages but this is really the best and we will certainly be back next year. Thank you both so much for the warm welcome and all the nice touches which made such a difference. We will recommend you to family and friends.
The Tebbit’s – West Sussex, September 2015


A fantastic base for our son’s first holiday and some spectacular views to gaze upon during early morning feeds.  This cottage (barn) is beautiful and immaculate whilst ensuring it has all the necessities for life that so many other holiday cottages forget.  The owners are welcoming to their slice of heaven amongst the fells.  Excellent cycling with breath taking scenery!
The Dewhirst’s – Derbyshire, September 2015


Thank you for a lovely stay in your jewel of a cottage! Best one we have stayed in by far! The attention to detail is amazing - we used the bread machine which is amazing, nothing better than fresh bread, fresh eggs & fresh coffee! Perfect.


Another five star review for Beehive Barn in Caldbeck. We spent the week leading up to Easter there and loved it. We've stayed in many different properties in the UK over the years and this is absolutely up there amongst the very best. The barn has been beautifully renovated and the decoration and furnishings are gorgeous. It was toasty warm, despite the cold weather and it was a pleasure to meet Tony and Carol, the owners. The scones and cream provided on arrival was a particularly nice touch.


Thank you Tony & Carol for a lovely week in this fantastic cottage.  It has been a brilliant base to explore the Northern Lakes. A lovely meal at the Lakes Distillery Bistro and the opportunity to explore the surrounding countryside from the cottage door.  We will definitely be back. 
Peter, Christine & Thomas (Nottingham) June 2015


One of the nicest cottages we've stayed in, with huge attention to detail from Tony & Carol - there is masses to do here within a maximum of 40 minutes - We'll be back" The Stone Family Buckinghamshire - May 2015 


Had a lovely week in this beautiful property.  Lots of lovely touches including the welcoming cream tea.  Plenty of walks from the front door.
The Watsons Sunderland. April 2015
 


We spent the week leading up to Easter there and loved it. We've stayed in many different properties in the UK over the years and this is absolutely up there amongst the very best. The barn has been beautifully renovated and the decoration and furnishings are gorgeous. It was toasty warm, despite the cold weather and it was a pleasure to meet Tony and Carol, the owners. The scones and cream provided on arrival was a particularly nice touch. Caldbeck is less than half an hour's drive from Carlisle, Keswick, Penrith, Cockermouth and the coast - all of which are worth a trip. You're also near Bassenthwaite and Derwentwater, with lovely walks from the door of the barn too. We can't recommend highly enough.
Miss L Milton London - March 2015


We recently stayed at the Beehive Barn in Caldbeck, the place is an absolute gem and testament to the hard work put into it by owners Tony and Carol. It is the best cottage/barn we have had the pleasure of staying in and it has everything you need in the surrounding area! (Pub, shop, petrol station etc). Our little boy loves feeding the chickens and looking at the two lovely COWS (as he shouted repeatedly). Tony & Carol were always on hand to help in anyway, I would recommend anyone to stay in this beautiful place!
S. Roberts. March 2015


What can we say that hasn't already been said! - An absolutely stunning property in a beautiful location, amazing attention to detail and a warm and friendly welcome that made us feel instantly at home. We have absolutely loved staying here and hope we can come back. Only regret was that it was too warm to light the log burner!  loved the chickens too - might take one home with us. Thanks Tony, Carol & Harry for everything.
Nick & Jean Harrison - June 2014


We were completely "wowed" by the property from the design, the décor & the attention to detail.  And as for the location absolutely beautiful.  Thank you so very much Tony, Carol & Harry & the chicken gang for the welcome and friendliness extended to us. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will leave with very happy memories. 
Carol & Gaby Mills - June 2014  


Wonderful stay, everything we needed including the weather. Thank you.
Julie & Roger - June 2014


We arrived to a warm welcome from Carol & Tony, that made you feel instantly at home. The barn is the most comfortable we have ever stayed in, and Tony & Carol's attention to detail is amazing. Our only complaint is that we have to leave.
To sum this place up..... Perfect in every way!  We cannot thank you enough for the kindness you have shown us.  Can't wait to come back.


We have just returned from our holiday at Beehive Barn - what can we say....thank you seems insufficient. The welcome started off a perfect stay [not to mention the fresh scones!!] The Barn was perfect-ticked all our boxes - and we were soon cosy in front of the log burner and 'chilled'. The owners were happy to help with advice on the best walks [and pubs] - but were not at all intrusive. The facilities and decor in the cottage were outstanding - a real home from home. We managed quiet a few walks despite some inclement weather [well it is January] - straight out of the front door. The local cafes and pub were all very welcoming - and only a short walk away.
The only thing left to say - we will be back!!
Sue Jay - Jan 2014


Privileged to be your first clients.  Thanks for sharing your beautiful place.  A very special holiday!
The Train family Dec 2013