• header1
  • header2
  • header3
  • header4
  • header5
  • header6
  • header7
  • header8
  • header9
  • header10
  • header11
  • header12
  • header13
  • header15
  • header16
  • header17
  • header18
  • header19
  • header20
  • header20.5
  • header21
  • header22
  • header23
  • header24
  • header25
  • header26
  • header27
  • header28
  • header29
  • header30
  • header31
  • header32
  • header33
  • header34
  • header35

1 Woodheads

Grange Over Sands

Key Information

Sleeps:4

Star Rating:VE 5 Star

Changeover:Friday

Pets:No pets, but assistance dogs welcome

Other: Bay Views
Easy Access For Cartmel Races
No mobile babies or children under 8 yrs
Wi-Fi Broadband
New Property

1 Woodheads Guest Reviews

 

Thank you Jo, we were so comfortable in your beautiful home! Appreciated all the attention to detail, clear instructions and local information. The Lakeland Leisure Walks were enjoyable, we were able to walk from the doorstep and had many delicious meals along the way.
19 Oct 2017. Philip, Lila, and Gabriel, Edinburgh. 


 

Thank you for the opportunity to stay at this ‘quirky’ place!  Great.  Good to catch up with friends and family.  Lovely view.  Sadly, too warm to try the wood burner! 
Joan Helmn, Alnwick


We loved our stay at Woodheads!  The place has so much character and Jo has supplied everything that is needed and more.  We enjoyed sitting on the veranda looking at the wonderful view - wrapped up of course!  The bed was very comfortable with lovely crisp bedding.  Everywhere was spotless. There was lots of information in the house for where to visit, where to walk, where to cycle and where to eat.  Together with the suggestions on your website we were spoilt for choice.
And we will always look first at your website when we next visit the Lakes - hopefully very soon.
Many thanks to you and Jo for a great holiday!
October 2017


We really loved it here!  Thank you Jo for letting us stay in this amazing place. We will be back!  We cycled some of the CNC 70/700 and thoroughly enjoyed it.  Beautiful views from quiet traffic free roads.  We walked around Tarn Hows and up to Hampsfell (twice!).  We visited Levens Hall which is stunning.  And spent an enjoyable morning at the Leighton Moss RSPB.  Well worth a visit.  There is still more we would like to do. Jo you have thought of everything! Thanks again! And the meal at Clare House was super!
October 2017.  Michael & Su Buggy, Maidstone.  


Perfect location near to the sea and the Lakes.  We would never tire of that view.
September 2017. Jacky & Richard. Coventry. 


Such a beautiful house and stunning views!  Enjoyed a wonderful family holiday with wonderful home comforts.  Thank you!
September 2017. Bill & Veronica Simister. West Houghton.  


We so enjoyed staying in your beautiful home!  Tastefully decorated and really felt like home from home - Thank you!
September 2017.  Kelly & Jamie Vickery, London.  

 


Thank you for welcoming us so warmly to your beautiful home.  We have had an amazing time exploring and enjoying the beautiful scenery, also the food at Clare House!  We look forward to returning.
September 2017.  Gerry & Sandra Lowe, Northamptonshire.  


Thank you Jo for your warm welcome and use of your OS maps.  We have enjoyed many fine walks and spectacular views from Hampsfell, Tarn Hows, Elterwater.  An amazing drive over Wrynose and Hardknott Pass.  Visited Cartmel Show and toured the Cartmel Estate on Segways!  Great fun!  Lovely house to visit the Southern Lakes from.
August 2017 Howard, Joanne & Daniel, Hertfordshire


Thank you for your hospitality and welcome.  We have enjoyed our stay here and had a nice getaway from the city.  The scenic views of the Lake District are a wonder of the world.
August 2017. Mr Saddique.  


Fantastic location.  Beautiful house, stunning views and just a great house to relax and enjoy.  The wild blackberries over the back fence were a lovely find!  Thank you Jo.
August 2017.  Bruce Family.  


What a great week it’s all gone too quickly but what a fab place to spend it.  Great views from the terrace and grazing in Cartmel was good too.  Thank you.
July 2017 Jane, Andy & Isaac, & Jackson the dog.  


A restorative holiday. What a fabulous house. Great location. Comfortable bed. Our first holiday in 5 years. Couldn’t have asked for more.
June 2017 - Steve & Christine, Kelbrook Lancashire


We have had a wonderful time at Woodheads, and it has been the perfect base for exploring the Lake District and sampling the culinary delights of Cartmel!  Thank you!
June 2017 - Chris, Geoff and Julianne from London. 


We have all fallen in love with this place.  Fantastic view and very well appointed.  Thank you.
June 2017 - Elaine, Martin, Sally & Martin from Wolverhampton 


We had a wonderful stay and could not have had  more enjoyable and relaxing time in your beautiful home!  Thank you to Jo for welcoming us to the Lakes!
Timothy, Christina, Sam & Sarah from Stockton Heath and Washington DC. 


My partner and I took my elderly mother for a week's stay at 1 Woodheads and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The accommodation  was very tastefully dressed and generally well equipped. My Mum loved her "pink"  room which, being adjacent to the bathroom, proved accessible for her. She was also able to access the beautiful sitting room, veranda and magnificent views aided by the handrail down three wide steps. We equally loved our room opening, as it did, onto the same lovely outdoor space and beautiful garden. We had a few problems with TV connection but Jo was really helpful and ensured our stay was happy and comfortable. All equipment, furnishings and bedding were of a high standard / good quality and the beds were extremely comfortable. All in all, a lovely week and we would all love to return next year. We would certainly recommend to friends.
Jude


Thank you for a wonderful stay in this lovely holiday home.  It had everything we needed and Jo was very welcoming and helpful.  Plenty to do in the surrounding area and we enjoyed a great day at the races!
28 May 2017 - Paul, Julia, Jane & Kate.


A superb week in a most gorgeous spot.  It met everyones needs especially Addie’s who had been very poorly over the winter. So well done Woodheads!
19 May 2017 - Annie & Jude, Bristol.  Addie, Barrow.


We have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in this fantastic place.  The views of the estuary have been different every day.  A train trip to Leighton Moss RSPB reserve was a highlight. 
12 May 2017 - Simon and Sue Jones, Bramham, W Yorks.  


Thank you for a wonderful stay at Woodheads! We have fallen in love with your wonderful home and couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay for our honeymoon. We will certainly return for our anniversary!
S Brown and D Brown 


Thanks Joanne & ‘the gracious old lady’ that is 1 Woodheads. She kept us comfortable and warm during a chilly Easter stay, showing us the spectacular changing moods of the bay and making a memorable family break. Thank You!
The Saberton family, Lincolnshire 


A lovely relaxing stay in a beautiful setting surrounded by stunning scenery. Glorious weather allowed many a walk to take in the views. Thank you for a delightful week.
Hannah & Nick, Dani & Jason, London  


Great accomodation with fab views.  Enjoyed great weather and good to explore the South Lakes area.  Fab fish and chips in Arnside!!
Viv and Kevin from Merseyside 


We’ve had a lovely relaxing stay in your beautiful tasteful house.  Have enjoyed every thoughtful touch and especially how spotless it all is - many thanks!
The Chandler Family, Anglesey 


Lovely short break in the Lakes. Great house, not so good weather but we did not let that dampen our spirits! Shame about England v Ireland.
The Young Family  


Lovely accommodation and fabulous views!  We really loved the piano and the roaring fire.
Taylor Family, Oxford  


Had a very relaxing time after our hectic part-move. Great views and superbly furnished. Cannot fault your home.
Ann & Brian Jones, Bromhall


Generous owner. Thank you for a beautiful stay. We plan to return. Thank you.
Kim & Matt, the Wirral


We have had a wonderful 3 night break here. Beautiful place. Generous hosts. Thank you.
Paul & Louise, Lancashire


We had a great time here, lovely people and beautiful scenery. The kitchen was lovely and we enjoyed the fire. Overall a very enjoyable way to spend the New Year.
Bruce, Valerie, Callum & Stuart White, Glasgow


Your flat is stunning.  We have enjoyed our stay so much.  Our first visit to the Lake District but most certainly not our last.  Thank You.
Sandy, Elizabeth & Gillian Wilson, Ontario, Canada  


Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us, it has really made our Anniversary break perfect.  We have climbed Great Carr to see the Halifax plane, been to Cartmel for cheese and beer, Bowness, eaten at Rogan’s and walked to the Hospice at Hampsfell.  A busy but relaxing break, and we look forward to returning to the Lakes.  Thanks again Joanne for your hospitality.
Ben and Rachael, Hertfordshire 


We all had an epic time (as simply put by our kids).  I loved your kitchen and cooked non-stop.  We had invigorating walks to the village center and enjoyed the local produce.  Thank you for having us!
The Lijs Family 


Fabulous house!  We’ve all had such a wonderful stay here. Loved it :-)
Claire, Brenda & John Calderbank & Simon Whittaker 


What an amazing stay!  Attention to detail is stunning.  A perfect place to relax and un-wind, which was desperately needed after the stress of organising our wedding!  We’ll be back.
Daneil & Marianne McDermott


We have had a wonderful holiday.  This is Harrison’s first holiday and we have really enjoyed the Lake District.  Lots of beautiful walks.  We can recommend the walk we did at Wray Castle from the Red Nab car park - stunning views.  The house has lived up to our expectations and then more.  Having breakfast outside in the sun and a cup of tea in front of the fire has been some of the highlights.  Thank you!
Linn, Andrew and baby Harrison


I can’t find one negative thing to say!  This place is unique and we have so enjoyed our stay.  We feel privileged to have stayed in such a special place.  We have also been so lucky to have had the most fabulous weather.  We haven’t taken the car out once the whole week!  We’ve been on the train to Ulverston and Arnside.  We’ve walked to Cartmel via Hampsfell and the Hospice.  We had a nice takeway from Aroma (Indian).  We’ve enjoyed breakfast outside on the sun loungers.  Thank you Joanne for sharing your home with us, (and the Prosecco & chocolate!).  We have truly unwound! Thanks again.
Julie & Richard from Derbyshire, Sept 2016 


Whisked away for a surprise weekend away for my 30th birthday by my husband.  What a fantastic place he found.  Top notch accomodation with such wonderful views.  Enjoyed relaxing in the sunshine.
Mr & Mrs Hillary - Sept 2016. 


So beautifully furnished and presented, of all the many holiday cottages we have stayed in, Woodheads is the number 1! And it speaks volumes for Grange and its fine walks and shopping that we left our car behind more days than we took it out…!


A beautifully decorated home with a lovely well maintained garden affording a stunning view of Morecambe Bay.  What a shame that there is no swimming or beach to explore and enjoy.  Lovely food at the Netherwood Hotel.
Pam Austin, Sussex 


Thank you for the lovely hamper on arrival.  The house is as beautiful as the pictures depicted.  1st time to the Lake District and loved exploring!  Grange was the perfect base - with such lovely shops and people!  Would definitely stay again.  Drunken Duck for food -  would highly recommend  - about half an hour away.
Clare, Izzy & Evie 


The internet description of the property gives it a lot to live up to but it does not disappoint - stylishly decorated and the view is magnificent.  We’re going home to build a verandah!  We enjoyed our evening trip to Arnside, eating fish and chips and watching a glorious sunset over the estuary.
L & J Millinchamp, August 2016.  


What a beautiful place!  We came here to celebrate a friend’s turning 50 and could not have loved the apartment any more!  The views are breathtakingly lovely.  Thank you to Joanne for sharing her lovely home so beautifully done out and comfortable and for the Prosecco and Choc!!
Pauline, Gillian, Lyn & Avril - 25 July 2016


Lovely property, stunning view, all home comforts.  A very relaxing holiday.  Great location for exploring the Southern Lakes.  Thank you for the chocolate and Prosecco, very nice welcome.
Jackie, Robert & Emma Plant - 11th July 2016 


Exceptional experience!...as an artist, I feel this house was so inspiring…I love your collection of books…everything was so beautiful and cozy…thanks for the chocolate!
Ayman, Hoda & Bushra - 21 July 2016 


Great house, stylish, comfortable, lovely views.  Made for a great week in the South Lakes - very good Prosecco too!  Thanks.
Mr & Mrs Watson - June 2016 


We had a wonderful time here.  The flat is fantastic and really nicely stocked for all our home cooking - many thanks for the Prosecco and chocolate!  We walked the Old Man of Coniston, lunched at L’Enclume in Cartmel and walked part of Windermere and visited Beatrix Potter’s home - Hill Top.  This is a great base for our holiday - thank you!
Mr & Mrs Tucker & Mr & Mrs May 


Wonderful flat with amazing views.  Very useful maps for walking in Grange and around the Lakes.  Great time at Cartmel Races too.  Relaxing and peaceful break in very chic surroundings, thanks Joanne!
Dr Banerjee & Family - May 2016


Spectacular view, lovely garden, spacious and very comfortable flat beautifully decorated.  We devoured every drop of the Prosecco in the warm glow of the wood fire.  Thank you Joanne for making it so memorable!  It was our first experience of the Lake District.  We drove around a lot.  We favoured the mountain passes around Grasmere and Derwentwater into Honister Pass.  A visit to Holker Hall shouldn’t be missed.
Mr & Mrs Crutchley